Gorilla tracking in Uganda is done in different families. There are four distinct gorilla tracking areas with a selection of habituated gorilla families by area as which include the following:

Buhoma (24 permits total): Rushegura, Habinyanja and Mubare groups

Ruhija (16 permits total): Bitakura and Oruzogo groups

Rushaga (36 permits total): Mishaya, Nshongi, Kahungye and Bweza groups

Nkuringo (8 permits total): Nkuringo group